This information is taken from the MCPF Brochure issued by the Malaysia Crime Prevention Foundation and we acknowedge with thanks for the use of this information on this website.



MCPF (registration no. 1574/93 - Wilayah Persekutuan), a Non-Government Organisation, was established on January 11th 1993. It is a Chapter of the Asia Crime Prevention Foundation, which is based in Tokyo, Japan and is the first Chapter to be established outside Japan. (MCPF is also a non-profit organisation).

The launching of the Foundation was officiated by the former Prime Minister of Malaysia, YABhg Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad, who was also the Patron of MCPF then.

The current Patron of MCPF is Rt. Hon. Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, the Prime Minister of Malaysia. The Chairman i the Hon. Datuk Dr Maximus Johnity Ongkili, JP (the Minister in the Prime Minister's Department) abd the Deputy Chairman is the Inspector-General of Police. Besides the Chairman and his Deputy, there are 25 members in the Executive Council of MCPF, which is the highest body in MCPF. These members are prominent figures from both the public and private sectors.

The EXCO also appoints members to serve in the State Liaison Committees (SLCs) for which there is one SLC for every state within Malaysia.


  • One of the objectives of MCPF is to promote public awareness in crime
    prevention at all times, in addition to getting public participation in crime
    prevention efforts of the Government and other interested parties

  • MCPF also aims to contribute to the enhancement of effective measures for crime prevention and treatment of offenders. The ultimate goal is peace, stability and zero-crime level in our Country.


To carry out the objectives of MCPF and the policies of the EXCO, a Management Committee (MC) was formed by the EXCO. The MC is chaired by Tan Sri Lee Lam Thye, who is also one of the three vice-chairmen of MCPF.

The MC in turn has formed 9 Standing Committees (SCs), each of which is headed by a member of the EXCO. The SCs and the respective Chairmen are as follows:


PR and Campaign SC
YBHg Datuk Dr Maximus J Ongkili, JP

Fund Raising SC
Tan Sri Azman Hashim

Project Co-ordination SC
YBHg Datuk Kamarudin Md Ali

Admin, Ops & Finance SC
YBHg Datuk Eddy Chen Lok Loi

Crime Prevention Club SC
Dato' Dr Haji Ahamad Sipon

Prisoners Rehabilitation SC
Dato' Mustafa Osman

Neighbourhood Outreach SC

Research & Publications SC
YBHg Datuk Dr Denison Jayasooria

Safe City Initiative SC
Mr Lawrence Chan Kek Tong

All the 9 SCs report to the MC and all Chairmen of the SCs are members of the SC.

The Chairmen of the SCs are permitted to invite any interested individuals (irrespective of whether the individuals are members or MCPF or not) to serve in the various SCs.


MCPF has undertaken several activities, which include:

Organizing, Coordinating and Promoting activities and assisting other interested parties (individuals or groups) for the purpose of crime prevention.

Conducting public Talks / Meetings / Seminars / Conferences / Exhibitions relating to crime prevention and treatment of offenders

Publishing and distributing Pamphlets, Bulletins, Posters and other relevant Literature to expound the activities of MCPF

Conduct, assist or encourage such activities as Survey, Research and related activities in the areas of crime prevention and the treatment of offenders

Organizing Projects / Campaigns to enhance the level of crime prevention awareness among the general public and community at large

Collaborating and co-operating with other related organizations outside Malaysia like the ACPF (Asia Crime Prevention Foundation) and UNAFEI (United Nations Asia and Far East Institute for the Prevention of Crime and Treatment of Offenders), including the exchange and publishing & distribution of documents / materials of crime prevention and criminal justice.

Soliciting funds to support and sustain the non-profit or non-commercial activities of MCPF in fulfillment of its declared objectives

Collecting donations, grants, endowments, legacies from any Person or Body for the promotion of the activities of MCPF

Contributing towards the rehabilitation of and assistance to crime victims where such assistance is considered by MCPF to be appropriate according to the merits of each case.


MCPF initiated the "Safe City" Projects in Bangsar, Cheras, both in Kuala Lumpur and at Bukit Jambul in Penang

The setting-up of Crime Prevention Clubs in Secondary Schools throughout the country with the co-operation of the Ministry of Education, Malaysia. There are about 1,500 such Clubs approved by the Ministry of Education.

The conducting of the Safe Neighbourhood Initiatives Programmes in collaboration with the City Hall, Kuala Lumpur (DBKL), the local Residents Associations and other interested Parties / NGOs.


There are 5 categories of membership as below:

ORDINARY MEMBER - Individual Membership. Entrance fee is RM20.00 and Annual Subscription is RM30.00 (Eligible to a single vote and to be elected to the EXCO Board)

HONORARY MEMBER - The EXCO shall invite individuals whom it feels are appropriate to the honour because of their outstanding contributions to the activities of MCPF.

CORPORATE MEMBER - Open to any business organization/companies. Entrance fee is RM2,000.00 and Annual Fee is RM2,000.00 (Eligible to a single vote)

ASSOCIATE MEMBER - Open to any registered Association / Club or similar Bodies. Entrance fee is RM20.00 and the Annual Fee is RM30.00 (Eligible to a single vote and to be elected to the EXCO Board)

LIFE MEMBER - The EXCO may, in its absolute discretion, grant life membership to members who have made outstanding contributions to promote the activities of MCPF (Eligible to a single vote and to be elected to the EXCO Board)


Bagi Pengal 2006/2008


YB Datuk Dr Maximus Johnity Ongkili, JP

YBHg Tan Sri Musa bin Dato' Hj Hassan

YBHg Tan Sri Lee Lam Thye
YBHg Datuk Henry Chin Poy Wu

YBHg Datuk Eddy Chen Lok Loi

ACP Ahmad Shamsuri bin Ahmad Mukri

YABHg Tun Mohammed Hanif Omar
YBHg Tan Sri Dato' Seri (Dr) Yeoh Tiong Lay
YBHg Tan Sri Dato' Azman Hashim
YBHg Tan Sri Abdul Aziz Mohd Yusuf
YBHg Tan Sri Robert Phang Miow Sin
YBHg Dato' Seri Kamal M Hashim
YBHg Brig-Jen Datuk Mohmad Shaid B Mohd Taufek
YBHg Lt Kol Prof Datuk Dr Hj Kamaruzaman Ampon
YBHg Datuk Dr Hj Ahamad Sipon
YBHg Datuk Rafek bin Reshidullah
YBHg Datuk Dr Denison Jayasooria
YBHg Datuk Kamarudin Md Ali
YBHg Datuk Eddy Chen Lok Loi
YBHg Dato' Johnny Ch'ng Ewe Gee
YBHg Dato' Hj Rahmat Ismail
YBHg Dato' Hj Arshad Hj Mokhtar
YBHg Dato' William WT Lim
YBHg Dato' Teo Chiang Liang
YBHg Datuk Ng Peng Hay
En. Lawrence Chan Kek Tong
En. Low Gee Tat

Want to know more? Visit our website